Here's some frequently asked questions that we get about Funeral Notices on localfuneral.co.uk.
A Funeral Notice is a way for you to let your family and friends know about an upcoming funeral that you've arranged.
If you’ve arranged a funeral with a funeral director that's listed on localfuneral.co.uk, you can ask your funeral director to create a Funeral Notice for you.
A Funeral Notice is included free of charge, as part of the funeral arrangement that you'll have purchased from your funeral director. This only applies to funeral directors that are listed on localfuneral.co.uk.
Yes, if you’re collecting donations for a charity or for a cause, you can add a link to the donations page that you’ve created. Only secure links will be accepted, meaning that the web address must begin with 'https'.
Your funeral director will be able to send you a link to your Funeral Notice before it's published. This will be a unique preview link, which shouldn't be shared, and can't have Memories added to it, but you can see the content as it would appear on the final version.
Memories are small messages, which can be left by visitors to the Funeral Notice.
If a Funeral Notice has the Memories feature turned on, you’ll be able to see a Memories section displayed on the page. From there, you’ll be able to click on the button labelled POST A MEMORY, which will ask for your name, email address and the memory that you’d like to post.
An email will then be sent to the email address you provided when creating the Memory. You must verify your email address before the Memory will be posted on the Funeral Notice.
When posting a Memory, you’ll receive an email containing a way of removing the Memory. This can be done at any time, and you’ll be asked to confirm that you’d like to remove the Memory from the Funeral Notice.
If you remove a Memory, then change you’re mind, you can’t undo it. You’d need to post a new Memory.
If you feel a Memory that’s been posted is inappropriate, you can report it to the funeral organiser. Just click on the Report Abuse link on the Memory to do so.
If you’re the funeral organiser, just contact your funeral director. They'll be able to make any changes to the Funeral Notice that you require.
The options to share the Funeral Notice are below the obituary message. These options are:
- via Facebook
- by email
- copying the link to use anywhere else
This last option allows you to share the Funeral Notice over messaging services such as WhatsApp.
The Funeral Notice will still be available for viewing and sharing. If you have Memories enabled, visitors to the page will still be able to post Memories on the Funeral Notice.
localfuneral.co.uk will continue to host your Funeral Notice for a minimum of 14 months after the funeral has taken place.
If you’re the funeral organiser and would like your Funeral Notice to be taken down, please contact your funeral director.
Alternatively, you can contact localfuneral.co.uk directly by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org. Please use the same email address you supplied to the funeral director when creating the Funeral Notice.